Inspiration and a pork roast recipe

So I just found Orangette and I’m inspired to just write and not worry about fitting into some blog mold that will get me noticed by some large publisher or the Food Network or whatever. Actually, I’m even doing this at work but no one else is here because I run a nonprofit and I’m one of two employees.

O.K., while we’re being honest I also just installed Luxor 3 on my work computer. And I played it before I read my e-mail.

My nonprofit is called the Community  Resource Center. It’s in Nashville. We supply basic household goods to nonprofit agencies for their clients – basic stuff lilke soap, detergent, shampoo, blankets. I got an e-mail this morning that the because of the laundry detergent we gave one nonprofit that serves children the kids came in clean clothes the day after they got the good stuff.

So none of this has anything to do with food, but I’ll end on a food note. for the first time in about 20 years I made a pork roast last night from a recipe from Notably Nashville, the Nashville Junior League’s extremely fine cookbook. It’s easy:

1 4-pound pork roast

1/3 cup red wine

1/3 cup soy sauce

2 large garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

Combine the red wine, soy sauce and garlic in a sturdy plastic bag. Marinate the pork foro 12-24 hours in the fridge, turning every so often. Drain pork, reserving the marinade.

Generously sprinkle the fat side (which you want “Up” in the roasting pan) with salt and pepper. Roast at 350 degrees on a roasting rack until the internal temperature reaches 145 degrees (the cookbook tells you to roast to 170 degrees but that is wrong, wrong, wrong – it’s why I hadn’t made a pork roast in 20 years. I thought the last one was dry and tasteless.)

While the pork is resting (at least 20 minutes, please), heat the marinade in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in about 1/2 cup of apple jelly (or really any kind that’s a jelly and not a preserve or jam). Reduce by half. There’s your sauce.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

