Yo ho ho

I am not a rum girl. When I was in high school, our gang would congregate at Vicki Gaulding’s house because her father didn’t keep a very close eye on the liquor cabinet. Vicki had an overnight right before the first round of “ice waters”, which was where service clubs (kind of like high school sororities) began picking their members. The idea was if some of the girls weren’t the right material, the clubs weren’t out a lot of cash since they only served ice water. So, anyway, the night before we drank a lot of rum and Cokes. And I got really sick. And my mother made me go to the ice water hung over. And I never touched rum again for more than 30 years. Until I had this cake.

DSCN0094 My husband used to own a Subaru and the dealership started sending him recipes for some reason. The first one was for rum cake around the holidays and Mark asked me to make it. I kind of got queasy, but I sucked it up and made it. It was really, really good – dense and moist and rum-laced in a good way. I just made it again for the church bake sale last Saturday and thought I’d pass the recipe along.

I should also tell you that I am not a baker. I’m a cook. I don’t  weigh flour or do anything involving precision, which is what you have to do if you’re a baker. I can’t made biscuits (Pillsbury already does a fine job at that). I don’t do homemade yeast rolls (Sister Schubert has that market cornered). But I do take perverse pleasure in turning out this cake in a bundt pan because it looks spectacular and nobody can tell that the main ingredient came out of a box.

You might be tempted to omit the glaze, but don’t. It makes the cake. And another great thing about this cake, is it gets better the longer it sits.

Easy Rum Cake

1 teaspoon melted butter

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup chopped pecans

1 package yellow cake mix

1 3/5-ounce package instant French vanilla pudding

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup rum

4 eggs

Glaze

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/8 cup water

1/8 cup rum

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat the bundt pan with 1 tablespoon of melted butter. Sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar and finely chopped pecans so they coat the pan.

In a large bowl, combine the cake mix and instant pudding. Add 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup rum and four eggs. Mix until smooth and well blended. Spread evenly in the bundt pan and bake for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Melt 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 cup water and 1/8 cup rum in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil and then remove from heat. Poke holes in the bottom of a cake (I use a wooden spoon handle). Pour glaze over hot cake. Allow the cake to cool completely before removing it from the pan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

