Peach Cobbler

Every Saturday during the spring and summer, Mark and I go to to the Farmer’s Market in Franklin. Actually, he doesn’t really like to go because it’s early Saturday morning but he supports my preference in the matter because he gets to eat what comes home with me. This morning he said, “You know, I’d love some peach cobbler.” Well, I almost had a conniption. Peaches are close to being out of season.Farmer's Market 006

We lucked out and found some beautiful peaches from a lovely set of farmers who had brought them all the way from south Georgia. So, along with new potatoes, homemade hot sage sausage, chicken livers (yea!) and cheese, the peaches came home with us. I must admit that blackberry cobbler is really my strong suit. I make it at least once and sometimes twice during the short three-week blackberry season. But it’s the same principal: fruit, sugar, a little cornstarch to thicken the mixture up when it bakes. DSCN0150I ended up using my blackberry cobbler crust recipe and a Paula Deen filling recipe combined. I wanted to try Paula’s complete recipe, but it calls for self-rising flour and I don’t do self-rising flour because I have no other use for it. As it happened, Paula was on TV while I was making this so I felt just that much closer to her.

My crust recipe is just 1 cup of flour, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, one egg, 1/2 stick of melted butter and 1/2  cup of milk. That’s it. Crust on top of the peaches. Into the oven at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes or until the crust starts to brown. Let it cool at least ten minutes before digging in. If you have vanilla ice cream, so much the better.DSCN0154

Well, Mark’s calling me. The fried chicken livers are ready. Along with crowder peas and creamed corn. I think you’ll have to agree that living in the South has its privileges.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

