Why Are These Eggs So Yellow?

DSCN0166Here’s a quiz: Which egg yolks are organic and which aren’t? Actually, it’s a trick question. There’s only one organic egg yolk in the bowl and I know you know which one it is. I noticed this yesterday as I was making breakfast for supper. I had a few store-bought eggs left over and then I dug into my organic stash from my friend Katie, whose mother raises chickens in her yard. How Southern.

The first time I made scrambled eggs for Noah’s buddy, Austin, he asked me why they were so yellow. Kids, these days. But really I didn’t understand the difference between regular and organic eggs until I started buying them from Katie (at $1.50 a dozen – my cheap side loves that!). The scrambled eggs are the color of marigolds. They’re richer. And the fun of Katie’s mom’s eggs are that none of them are the same size. You can tell the young hens from the older hens, shall we say.

Now the only problem with organic eggs is that it wreaks havoc with recipes that call for “three large eggs” and such. How do you determine what a large egg is and what if you only have those tiny baby hen eggs left?

The best place to find organic eggs beside’s knowing someone with chickens in her yard. Number one, the farmer’s market. Number two, organic grocery stores. Number three, some regular grocery chains carry them. They are way more expensive than regular eggs. But that’s because the chickens were actually happy laying them. Now isn’t that worth something?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why Are These Eggs So Yellow?

  1. RibDog

    At our local Saturday Morning Market, there is a woman who sells fresh eggs. I emailed her and ordered a dozen one week. Went down to pick them up and she said “that will be $4.50.” That was a real tough one to swallow. As P.T. Barnum once said, “There’s a sucker born every minute.”

    As you can imagine, I have not been back for more.

    But on the subject of how many to use if you have different sizes, crack the eggs and whisk them. Then measure out by weight the amount you need.

    • momsguidetogrilling

      You’re so scientific! That’s probably why you’re a better baker than I am.

      Catherine Mayhew 5117 Albert Drive Brentwood, TN 37027 (615) 373-5456

Leave a Reply

