Farm Town

I’ve been very busy this afternoon planting flowers, harvesting crops, plowing fields and moving my smaller house to a new location. It’s a wonder I had time to get Noah’s trough of food ready for the next school week I was so busy working my fingers to the bone.  This is my farm to the right. I have my lovely white farm house in the center of the farm and a smaller house for the help in the corner. If you look very, very closely you can see me in the yard. What? You can’t see me? Maybe if I press the “walk” button and move about a bit you can tell I’m here, right here in Farm Town.Farm

I promise you there are several points at which Farm Town and food intersect. The first was when I started playing this stupid game about three weeks ago after spending a five-hour car ride to Dillard, Georgia, with my friend Linda for a BBQ contest. She and her daughters, Lori and Roxanne, practically live in Farm Town. The idea is to plant crops that someone else harvests for money so you can buy things like houses and chickens and cement ponds. Then you get your fields plowed by somebody else to get points to move up in the game. You also can get money and points by going to the Marketplace and getting someone else to hire you. The Marketplace is kind of scary. It’s filled with “farmers” from all over the world, yelling in different languages: HIRE ME! You can also instant message your “neighbors” to help harvest or plow. Linda, Lori and Rox are all my neighbors and Linda, in particular, pops up at all hours of the day or night: “You there? Want to plow?”

And, God help me, I do. I want to plow and harvest and yell at the Marketplace HIRE ME!

So this afternoon, I’m adding to the national debt as I’m making Noah his lunches for next week while frantically running back and forth to sell a crop of pumpkins or harvest some idiot’s field. I’m sorry. That wasn’t nice. Assisting a fellow farmer in harvesting his field.DSCN0223 The second shelf in the fridge is Noah’s food stash. There’s containers of pasta salad, sausage and pork loin biscuits and Rice-A-Roni salad. Please note the large box of wine next to the milk. That’s mine.

DSCN0222I send all this with Noah in disposable plastic containers that are meant to be thrown away but which I use over and over again until they become discolored and torn. Except the ones that Noah leaves in his room for three days. I can draw the line somewhere.

So, in my few spare moments between cooking and playing Farm Town, I happen to post on Facebook that I’m making all this stuff and that children really should not be allowed to bring lunch to school. And, of course, who pops up in the comment section but two of my “neighbors” in Farm Town wanting the recipe. Puleeze. Don’t you have to harvest some raspberries or something?

So, here it is. Rice-A-Roni salad. Maybe it will fortify you girls while you’re plowing my fields tonight.

Rice A Roni Salad

1 box Fried Rice Rice A Roni

1/3 cup thinly sliced green onions

1/3 cup diced carrot

1/3 cup sliced green olives

1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon mayonnaise

2 tablespoons sour cream

Prepare Rice A Roni per package instructions. Let cool completely.

Combine rice with green onions, carrots, olives, mayonnaise and sour cream. Mix thoroughly.

Chill for at least one hour before serving.

(From the HandyMom’s Guide to Grilling, Catherine Mayhew, Cool Springs Press)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Farm Town

  1. martinigirl

    i’m famous now!! i’ve been mentioned in your blog (altho it is ‘lori’ and not ‘laurie’)…never fear…i’ve been called much worse! don’t worry. i won’t ask you to pick razzies on farmtown….i hate razzies….i have much more snooty crops like pineapples and blue berries! 😀

  2. RibDog

    That sounds good, Catherine. Am going to have to try that.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

