Grill Girl

I  was watching TV last night and saw this commercial  that started out “all the things that are just for men” and the first damn thing in the commercial was a red Weber kettle.DSCN0063 Really? This is my Weber grill, which I’ve had since about 1985. Please note the wood handles. I think my grill may be considered an antique now.

There’s a killer recipe for salmon coming here. Just bear with me.

I have been setting charcoal on fire all my life. I love the flames. I love the primal essence of grilling. I love the clean up – hardly any. But my daddy would just roll over if he knew that there were commercials now talking about how much grilling is  a guy thing. He taught me. You know how sometimes when there are two girls in a family, dad adopts one of them as a pseudo son? That was me. I went to football games with him. I raked leaves with him. And I grilled with him.DSCN0271

This is his grilling apron from the 1950s. I have saved it, even though it is getting worn and frayed because I smile every time I look at it. Kitchen King. He actually was. He was a far better cook than my mother. One of the great things about my dad is that he never limited either Louise or I from thinking there was the slightest bit of difference between girls and boys as far as intellectual ability. That sounds so old school in 2009, but it was pretty original thinking in 1959.

So I learned to grill. And I kept doing it all the way through college, as a single woman (for way too many years – maybe the grilling thing was a turn-off?), into my married life and as a mother.  The Weber followed me from Charlotte, North Carolina, to Reno, Nevada (that’s a whole ‘nother story) to Brentwood, Tennessee. DSCN0273

Then, like the Octomom, I didn’t know when to quit having babies. The big Char Grill gasser is to the left. Next over is my Weber Baby-Que, for grilling on the go. Then the Big Green Egg – what a beauty she is. And then my Weber Smoky Mountain. I am religious about keeping them covered. One of my friends, Andy Cassel, said this about his children one time when asked about their clothing: “I don’t care what they wear as long as it’s weather appropriate and covers their butts.” I feel the same thing about my grills.

O.K., you’ve sat through this long enough. Here’s the salmon recipe.

Balsamic Honey Glazed Salmon

½ cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons honey

1 16-ounce piece of skinless salmon

Salt and pepper

Spray oil

Combine balsamic vinegar and honey in saucepan and heat over medium high temperature, stirring occasionally, until mixture is reduced by half.

Brush salmon liberally with balsamic honey glaze. Salt and pepper to taste.

Heat grill to medium. Spray with oil. Grill salmon about five minutes per side. Remove from grill and brush more balsamic honey glaze on top of fish. Rest, covered, for 10 minutes.

Serves four.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Grill Girl

  1. Cath – Our Weber looks EXACTLY like yours, except it’s cobalt blue. Also always carefully covered. Also has wooden handles. It replaced a cheaper, simpler black Weber I had for years before I married – the legs finally rusted off. Bless its heart. Blue Weber has been with us for about 15 years, give or take. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

