Things I Can’t Make Better

DSCN0218There are some things I just can’t make better. I am almost always in favor of scratch cooking over opening a box or a jar, but there are a few things that I can’t do as well as Mr. Pillsbury or Sister Schubert and I’m here to admit it. For instance, look at those cookies above. Aren’t they just scrumptious?

DSCN0216Well, this is where they came from. These are Pillsbury Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. I have cleverly hid the evidence in the trash. I cannot make them any better than some automated line of machines in a factory, probably somewhere in the North. I just don’t even want to know. But they’re terrific. They take 12 minutes to bake and clean up is a snap.

Here are some other things I can’t make better. Sister Schubert yeast rolls. I don’t know if everyone in the country has access to these but they’re absolutely wonderful. Do you know how long it takes to make yeast rolls. Mark remembers his Granny Belle making them from scratch. It took forever. Of course she didn’t use a recipe and of course Mark never stood over her shoulder to watch how she made them. But he is extremely fond of Sister Schubert’s yeast rolls and declares them just about as good as Granny Belle’s were.

Here’s another one. That rotisserie chicken you can get at the Publix or any other grocery store for that matter? Can you make it better? I don’t think so! It’s always moist and tender and the skin is just delicious. And you bring it home in a paper container. Here’s the deal, though. I do save the carcass and make chicken stock. So that’s kind of homemade.

The last two are just guilty pleasures in the Mayhew homestead. Manwich Sloppy Joes and Tater Tots. I am here to tell you I can’t make a Sloppy Joe from scratch that’s better than Manwich. This is our go-to meal on busy nights. And Tater Tots? Well, a classic and that can’t be argued with. How would you make those from scratch anyway? DSCN0423

So here’s the leftover Manwich and Tots tonight. Mark had court in Murfreesboro today and came home starving. Dancing With The Stars starts in nine minutes so I didn’t have a lot of time to cook (I am so rooting for the Iron Chef America guy who does that karate thing when the show starts!). And Noah had choir practice where he had to dress up in some Beauty and the Beast Disney costume. I had to make a costume for my 17-year-old senior in high school. I truly thought those days were over. At any rate, Noah’s in the kitchen now eating leftover Manwich and Tots. And I’m about to head off to the bedroom to watch Dancing.

There are times when I can’t make things better or faster. Tonight’s one of those nights.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Things I Can’t Make Better

  1. Cath – Love this! My mother still makes yeast rolls using my grandmother’s recipe. I’ve made them too. It wasn’t that hard, but very time-consuming. And you have to have a decent dough hook on a mixer.
    I also have a recipe for sloppy Joe’s. It requires you to make a little cheesecloth bundle of spices, tied with twine. Mama used to buy baby socks on the cheap and use them. It fascinated me to think we were eating Tiny Toe Burgers.
    I’ve got both, if you want copies.

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

