Asian Coleslaw

Bill and Debby Gage are barbecue buddies who go way back. I remember the first time I met them at a contest in Winchester, Tennessee. I had just checked into my hotel room and they spotted me as I was about to leave. “Are you here for the barbecue contest?” Bill asked? Hey, you want a drink?”  Well, I just loved them from the beginning.

DSCN0464

So when Debby joined us last weekend for the contest in Gallatin, she thoughtfully brought supper. The Chicks never eat at a barbecue contest. We’re usually too excited to work up an appetite. But Debbie made this sensational salmon, which you won’t get the recipe for because Bill might want to use it in a contest someday (barbecue people will understand this perfectly) and this coleslaw that just blew everyone away. Even the beefy men in neoprene gloves came over to sample it.

One of the things I love about Southern cooking is that we can take a basically healthy thing and turn it all fattening without too much effort. This salad calls for almost a stick of butter. Bravo, Debby!

Debby actually got this recipe from a guy at another barbecue contest. We’re an incestuous group, but we eat well. Here you go.

Asian Cole Slaw

1 head cabbage, shredded  (or two packages coleslaw mix)

8 green onions, sliced thinly

Dressing:

1 cup oil

¾ cup sugar

3 tablespoons soy sauce

¼ cup apple cider vinegar

Emulsify in blender until light in color.

Topping:

6 tablespoons butter

2 packages Ramen soup noodles (use the seasoning packet for

something else)

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup slivered almonds

Saute  until toasted brown. DO NOT burn.

Dressing and topping should be mixed with cabbage and onions just before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Asian Coleslaw

  1. Debby Gage

    Wow! No one has ever written anything about me before–that I know of. We’ve loved you from the start too! I love to read your musings…whether or not they concern me!

Leave a Reply

