Pork chops and fried apples

I would like to be a rich woman. I would like to be a rich woman not so I could buy diamond earrings or a European sports car or a villa in the south of France. I would like to be a rich woman so I could afford more of the $12 pork chops I bought last week. I am not a food snob by any means and I can honestly say that the three organic chickens I have bought in my lifetime tasted just like, well, chicken. But I became a true believer in heritage pork the other night.

I bought the chops from West Wind  Farms, which you will start to think I have some kind of partial ownership in, but I don’t. The first thing I noticed is that the raw chops were really red, not pale pink like the pork in the grocery store. I just cooked them the simplest way possible, coated in bread crumbs and fried in oil. One thing I’ve learned about pork in the modern age is that you don’t want to overcook it. You want there to just be a blush of pink in the center.

They were utterly delicious. Meaty beyond description and moist as could be. I could taste the difference between heritage pork and grocery store pork and I just hate that because it means I am going to buy more $12 pork chops (two to a package, so $6 each). But at least I can buy them using my debit card (don’t you love it that organic farmers take credit cards?) so I won’t actually watch the dollar bills disappear from my wallet.

Now, on to fried apples. I personally believe there is no greater combination that pork and fried apples.

Fried Apples

8 Granny Smith apples

Juice of one lemon

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 tablespoons butter

Peel the apples, core them and slice them into 1 inch slices. Sprinkle the slices with lemon juice as you cut them up so they won’t turn brown. Put them in a skillet and sprinkle them with the sugar and cinnamon. Add the butter.

Saute them over medium heat until the apples are soft, about 15 minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under sides

3 responses to “Pork chops and fried apples

  1. Terrell Jones

    You never cease to amaze me.

  2. terrell jones

    Come to think of it apples with pork is a northern thing. I was in the army up north before I ever saw it.

  3. RibDog

    I think I created a monster. I sent my sister, who is also a foodie, the link to your blog. She called me today saying she must try those pork chops!

Leave a Reply

