Pies for the Thankgiving Table

I am on a pie high right now, and I just thought I’d share the two recipes for pie that I’ve fallen in love with. Neither of them are mine, but I’ve made them both and I love them more than color TV.

The first one is Tyler Florence’s Ultimate Pumpkin Pie with Crunchy Cranberry Topping. Of course, I can’t follow anyone’s recipe to the letter. I use the Crisco pie dough recipe. And I leave off the cranberry topping. The pumpkin filling is creamy and just yummy. And it’s a one-crust pie, so easy peesy. This is the actual pie I baked. And I’ll admit this to you – it was my first pie ever! So you should take courage from that.

The second is a cherry pie. I am not a sweet filling person so I looked for a way not to use the canned cherry pie filling you see in the supermarket. Instead, I found a brand of tart cherries from Oregon (that’s the company’s name). On the label, it claims to have a recipe for the best cherry pie you’ll ever eat. I am buying stock in this company. This is also the actual pie I baked. I know I’m making much of this, but I suffered for years from pie-phobia.

I am shocked to tell you that when I went to the Oregon website to link to the recipe, they’ve changed it from the one on the can. The one on the website has way more sugar in it. So, if you like really sweet, here it is. If not, here’s the recipe on the inside of the Oregon label.

Cherry Pie

1/2 – 3/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

2 cans Oregon Red Tart Cherries

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (optional)

1 tablespoon butter

2 crusts for a 9-inch pie

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Drain the cherries and reserve the juice from only one can. In a saucepan, stir the cherry juice into the combined mixture of the cornstarch and sugar. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thickened. Remove from heat. Gently stir in the cherries and extract. Pour filling into pastry lined pie pan. Dot with butter. Adjust top crust, seal and vent. Bake 30-40 minutes or until crust browns and filling begins to bubble. If necessary, cover edges with foil during the last 15 minutes of baking to prevent over-browning. Cool pie several hours to allow filling to thicken before slicing.

Whatever your Thanksgiving traditions are, I hope you all have a safe and comforting Thanksgiving Day and celebrate your loved ones with good food and warm hearts.

3 Comments

Filed under sweets

3 responses to “Pies for the Thankgiving Table

  1. The pumpkin pie is DE-licious! I, for one, am glad you overcame the pie phobia. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. Terrell Jones

    I hate to keep asking questions about computer. You once told me how to copy a recipe here and transfer it to my files. If you will do it again I will make boo coo copies and not have to bother you again with this question.

    • the south in my mouth

      You are never a bother. Mark calls you my other boyfriend, but I tell him you have many, many girlfriends and I am but a dalliance. Take the cursor and drag it down the recipe. Click copy. Open a Word document and click paste. Save the word document. Someday I’ll figure out how to make a recipe section, I promise.

Leave a Reply

