The boy got in

Oh, I know I shouldn’t be writing a post at 4:49 a.m. But I’ve got my Christmas cold, hacking away, and my boy just got into Loyola. Here’s how life has changed. In my day (oh, I HATE to say that), you applied to college and you got an acceptance letter. Now you get a text message. Noah got his text this afternoon.

I told him that we have to figure out financing. I told him that it’s really cold in Chicago. I didn’t tell him that when I drop him off at his dorm there I will walk away bravely and then cry uncontrollably.

What’s happened to me? I used to be self-sufficient. I used to be self-directed. Until I let all these people in my life. Now I have to worry about how they are all turning out. I’m pretty proud of Noah. He’s come a long way and he’s a great kid. My mom used to call Louise and me rotten kids. She meant it as a complement. I wish she was here. She’d love the grandson she never knew.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The boy got in

  1. Terrell Jones

    Congratulations!!! Was this his first choice? My granddaughter failed her test for Grad school and was very upset. She has always been one of those that aced everything without much work.

  2. the south in my mouth

    It was his first choice. He loves Chicago.

  3. Joy McLemore

    Congratulations to Noah!! A sweet post Catherine, I can empathize.

  4. Louise Silverstein

    Mazel Tov!! Ana will be very jealous. Funny that Noah will be in that neck of the woods. Want to see if we can keep Carl’s house for him?!

  5. A Cassel

    It’s traumatic to leave them off in the dorm, but interesting as all getout to see what happens next. So far in his first term this year, my kid’s produced a rap song with his roommate, learned to play the ukelele discovered psychology, Hillel and Zen meditation, joined an arts community and acquired a girlfriend … from Chicago! (They can even argue ’cause she’s from the South Side and he’s nominally a Northside native (who moved to Philly at 2 weeks.))

Leave a Reply

