Kofta Kabobs

What? How did Kofta Kabobs get on a blog about Southern food? Southern Lebanese, perhaps? Someone in Lebanon must speak with a drawl. Actually, in Middle Tennessee there is a Lebanon, only it’s pronounced “Leb‘non”.

But I am already digressing. I adore lamb. I found it repugnant as a child. On the rare occasion when we had it, my mother always overcooked it and then served it with noxious mint jelly. I do not even know why mint jelly exists.

The other night I just got a craving for Kofta, ground lamb with Middle Eastern spices such as cumin, coriander and cinnamon, that are shaped into cylinders and wrapped around a skewer for grilling. Except that it was cold and pouring down rain so I skipped the skewer part and just fried them.

I have to pass along a quick story about why I love the Publix. Another time when I was about to have a complete breakdown if I didn’t get ground lamb burgers I went to the Publix and they didn’t have any ground lamb. But. BUT. The man behind the meat counter asked if I could wait a few minutes and he would grind a lamb shoulder just for me. Do you think they would do that at the Kroger? No, they would not.

You are now wondering what the white gunk on top of the Kofta is. It is not gunk. It is Tzatziki, a sauce made from plain yogurt, cucumber, olive oil, garlic and lemon. You will be tempted to skip this part of the recipe, but do not do that. It’s really good.

The Food Network has a better recipe than I’ll ever come up with so I’m going to share it with you. If lamb’s not your thing (try it once, please!), you can make this with ground beef.

Leave a comment

Filed under lamb

Leave a Reply

