Family

Sometimes you do  things you normally wouldn’t do. Because of family.

Such is the case tonight. We are in Knoxville with Granddaddy. Granbunny is at work. We got here about 7:30 p.m., and ran by the Food City for the ingredients for Sloppy Joes and Tater Tots, my all-time go-to meal when I’m short on time. I buy butter for the toasted buns. Bunny is a squeeze Parkay girl. I don’t do Parkay.  I immediately commenced to cooking as soon as we hit the door.

I don’t do supper at 8:30 p.m., which is how it timed out. I normally don’t do ice cubes in my wine, which I am doing right now as I write. In a plastic cup festooned with pink flamingos. I was too lazy to find the wine glasses. Plastic is fine. The Sloppy Joes were good. Chester and Thelma, Bunny’s dogs, enjoyed the scraps.

We just finished watching Tennessee beat Ohio State during March Madness. I hate basketball. It’s boring. But I have to admit the game came down to the wire and the Vols pulled out a thrilling victory. Thrilling if you like basketball.

But we’re here with family. Tomorrow morning, we’re all saddling up to drive to Asheville to reunite with the Mayhews of North Carolina – Josh, Tammy and our beautiful granddaughter Sydney. More family.  

Hurry up meals. Basketball. Six hours on the road in all. Totally worth it. Family.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Family

  1. Terrell Jones

    Have a great time. I remember from last year lots of good food.

  2. Mike Ramsey

    I know of a certain restaurant in North Knoxville (near Merchants Road) you can go by and pick up or send Grand Daddy (he know the way) and pick up some cornbread dressing. It’s great, hot or cold. Enjoyed your story! See you sometime soon.
    I wanted you to know that a certain plow bow and hay seed has never forgot you. Love you and talk to you and take care of that Grand Daddy. He’s a very special guy. In the words of a restauranteur——CHOW! MIKE

Leave a Reply

