The flood

I am just back from a BBQ contest in Huntsville, Alabama. It took me hours to get home. Because of the flood.

It started raining this morning. Heavy. But I didn’t think anything of it until I tried to get back home. Interstate blocked. Flooded. Cars floating down the interstate. Really? Can’t someone do something about this? Apparently not.  Rerouted to side roads by dedicated emergency crews we should thank our lucky stars for every day. Side roads flooded. I try this way and that. Blocked here and blocked there. Finally find a way home.

We are Breakfast Team Six, cooking breakfast at St. Paul’s tomorrow morning. I ponder not making anything special. Who’s going to be at church? We are flooded. We cannot even get down the main road to church. I feel a compulsion to make a Tater Tot casserole. And I do. Recipe to follow in another post. It is somehow comforting to bake Tater Tots and make a cheese sauce while people are floating away on Interstate 24. Yes, people are floating away on major interstates. Can’t somebody do something about this? Apparently not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

