Grilled pork quesadillas

So Noah’s idea of a good head count is a little challenged, shall we say. For his graduation luncheon at the all-you-can-eat sushi place he told me three or four friends. There were 13. The one redeeming thing about his graduation luncheon was watching Buehler eat. Chris Buehler is the greatest, most powerful, eating machine I have ever witnessed. He started coming to the house for supper a few years ago. “Is there any more?” were his favorite four words. I’m getting to the pork, I promise.

I told Noah that my one dying wish would be to watch Buehler at the all-you-can-eat sushi place and I was not disappointed. In the photo, he is on his fifth and sixth plates. The phrase “two-fisted eater” doesn’t begin to do Buehler justice. I just sat and stared at him. He never noticed. He never even looked up. It was a thing of beauty in its own odd, gluttonous way. Buehler is a student at the University of Tennessee and I understand there is a chronic food shortage in Knoxville that spans the entire school year.

On the other end of the spectrum, as far as Noah’s head count problem, was his birthday supper the night before graduation. There will be 15 of my friends here, he told me. Buehler was one of them. OK. Fourteen teenagers plus Buehler. I got ten pork tenderloins to grill. I was ready for the onslaught. Except the onslaught was six, not 15.

So came the question. Can you freeze cooked pork tenderloin? I tried it. Yes, you can. With no ill effect. A couple of nights later, I pulled one of them out, sliced it and made grilled pork quesadillas.

Here’s how I did it. Saute some bell pepper and onion in a little oil. Slice the pork tenderloin into thin pieces and add them to the pan just to warm them up. Remove vegetables and meat. Slide a tortilla into the pan and top half of it with the meat and vegetables and then lay two fairly thick strips of quesadilla Mexican melting cheese on top. Fold and cook over medium heat until the bottom of the quesadilla is browned. Flip and brown the other side. Yum.

Leave a comment

Filed under pork, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

