Pork liver pate with tomato chutney

O.K. So they were really  nice. The chefs were really nice and didn’t make fun of me at all. We had the most amazing dinner at City House and I am embarrassed to say there was not even the slightest speck left for a doggy bag.

Chef Tandy Wilson had to be completely on the unbelievable other side of nervous with seven of the Southeast’s best chefs sitting in his restaurant.  But when he came up to visit with us a little bit he just looked like the coolest customer around. Baseball hat. Pencil stuck behind his ear. T-shirt. I asked him if the dinner he was about to serve us was part of the restaurant menu. And do you know what he said? He said he just made it up.

So the first thing to arrive were paper bags with heritage pork rinds dusted with homemade ranch dressing mix. Then out came a platter with pork liver pate and tomato chutney with homemade flatbread crackers. I had no idea what was to come so I ate about half the bowl of that pate. It was tremendous. Then came homemade mozzarella wrapped around an heirloom cherry tomato. And then came a huge bowl with the most delicate luscious salad of silver queen corn, baby lima beans, red onions, Parmesan cheese and toasted bread crumbs.

So right now, I’m thinking this has got to be everything. I am barely talking to people. I am just shoveling it in. It’s actually embarrassing. But it’s not all.

Out comes a pizza of roasted eggplant, onion and more of that creamy homemade mozzarella cheese. Then comes a platter of tiny red peppers stuffed with more eggplant and anchovy resting on a rustic  tomato sauce. A platter of spicy shrimp in the shell arrive. Then roasted potatoes and cauliflower. And finally a tray of heritage pork sliders.

I am now comatose, but I keep eating. And even though I’m not a dessert person, I eat the desserts: a trio of a lovely deeply chocolate mousse cake, a crunchy almond cookie and a peach galette.

I call for the wheelbarrow to remove me from the table. I think my work here is done. I pinch myself as I drive home, partially to keep me awake but mostly because I just had one of the greatest meals of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

