Roasted cherry tomatoes with pesto pasta

Ya’ll, I am not even going to back into this one. I have invented (I think) something that is so indescribably delicious, I just have to share it right away. So my friend, Bobbie Cox, gives me way too many cherry tomatoes. It’s part of her master plan to foist all her excess vegetables from the garden onto her friends.

I cannot eat a gross of raw cherry tomatoes. So I roast them. Cherry tomatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper and a pinch of salt in a 300 degree oven for about two hours. I did this last night and just stuck them in some Tupperware on the counter. No need to refrigerate.

I boil some fusilli pasta I got at Trader Joe’s for 99 cents a pound! Liberally salt the water first. Then, when it’s al dente I add in an 8-0unce container of pesto, a liberal handful of toasted pine nuts and some Parmesan cheese.

Mark does not like pesto and he’s not that wild about pasta either. “Honey,” he said after supper, “if you add in those tomatoes I’ll eat this every night.” Good boy.

I now know that I will not be defeated by Bobbie Cox this summer. She’s already given me a bushel of corn (shucked, cut off the cob and in the freezer), a pile of zucchini (zucchini bread made – sorry, Betsy, I am getting it to you at some point) and enough crookneck squash to choke a horse (squash casserole). Is there anything better than summer? I think not.

Leave a comment

Filed under casseroles, sides, veggies

Leave a Reply

