Cornbread omelettes

Ya’ll this is going to be short and sweet tonight, but I wanted to tell you about one of the best brunch ideas I have come across in a lot of years. Cornbread omelettes.

This is in no way my idea, although it hurts me to admit that. David and Julie Burris, who own the Western Sizzlin’ in South Pittsburg, Tennessee, thought it up. They do a lot of catering for the folks at Lodge Cast Iron and they were, happily for me, at the brunch hosted by Lodge’s CEO, Bob Kellerman, and his wife, Cheryl.

So here’s what they do. They make a batter the consistency of pancakes with cornbread mix. If I were guessing, which I am, I would say just add a little whole milk to your cornbread batter to thin it out. Then they essentially make a giant hoecake in a really hot skillet.

The guests pick the filling. Bacon? Yes! Ham? Of course! Peppers, onions, mushrooms, cheese. All of that, too. They put the filling in the hoecake and turn it out onto the plate like an omelette. Look at that! Just look at it. Doesn’t that just make your mouth water? I can report to you that these cornbread omelettes were just delicious. Crispy cornbread batter with a tender interior swallowing up the cheese-laced filling. I don’t think I need to say anything more. Except that the good people of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church who attend breakfast when our coveted – if not award-winning – breakfast team cooks will see these again, I promise you.

Leave a comment

Filed under breakfast, cheese, pork

Leave a Reply

