Flat iron steak with compound butter

You know how sometimes you have this thing you’ve made but you need something way bigger to go with it? A few weeks ago I made compound butter because I had some leftover chives and shallots and I didn’t know what to do with them.

My log of compound butter sat in my freezer for what seemed like the longest time. So I decided to get a steak to go with it. I know that is false economics.

I’m thinking, let’s splurge on filet mignon. It’s been a long week. I can use some gustatory loving. I almost had a heart attack when I looked at the price in the supermarket. Twenty-four dollars a pound! You’ve got to be kidding me! Who can pay that kind of money for steak?

By the way, I think it is completely discouraging that the supermarkets are taking good cuts of beef like a New York strip and cutting them into pathetically thin pieces to try to sell them for less money. The only way you could get a steak like that rare would be to pass it briefly over the grill at high altitude with a pair of tongs.

But I digress. So I settled on the more affordable flat iron steak, which is actually part of the chuck but has more flavor than the filet. I think I paid twelve bucks for it and money well spent.

The simplest of applications. Montreal Steak Seasoning, the most harmonious sidekick to a steak ever invented. Grill about five minutes on each side for medium rare. Rest for ten minutes. Top with a nubbin of compound butter. Inhale.

You can make compound butters with any kinds of herbs. It’s great stirred into scrambled eggs, spread on bread and toasted under the broiler and it gives mashed potatoes an extra kick.

Compound butter

2 sticks butter

1 large shallot, minced

1/2 cup any kind of herbs, minced

Let butter soften at room temperature. Mix in shallot and herbs. Put butter on a piece of Saran Wrap and form it into a log. Freeze. When you’re ready just cut off a slice and return the rest to the freezer.

1 Comment

Filed under beef, sides

One response to “Flat iron steak with compound butter

  1. JaneB

    If you want that flat iron steak to taste like prime rib, roast a couple of heads of garlic in the oven, squeeze out the paste and mix with your butter. Mmmmmm good!

Leave a Reply

