Creamed chipped beef on toast

Oh no! I can hear you saying it right now. She’s not writing about S— on a Shingle. But I am!

I can’t remember when I first had creamed chipped beef but I am fairly certain it came out of the freezer section of the supermarket and was made by Stouffer’s. You must remember that my mother didn’t cook. When my sister and I were little we could barely contain our excitement when she brought home Swanson’s TV Dinners. So exotic. So delicious. Finding Stouffer’s was like graduating from the kiddie pool to the Olympic-sized swimming pool. I vividly remember my friend Harriett Clewis baking a couple of pans of Stouffer’s Lobster Newburg (which, for some reason, they no longer make – a pity), transferring it to a baking dish and passing it off as homemade to one of her dates in high school. Harriett’s mother couldn’t cook either.

But I digress. Stouffer’s Creamed Chipped Beef was pretty good, but once I learned to make a bechamel sauce I realized I could make my own version. Of course you have to get the dried beef in the glass jar. I don’t know what it’s used for except creamed chipped beef and cheese balls.

I promise if you try this recipe on a cold winter’s night you will not regret it. Better than Stouffer’s. Most definitely.

Creamed Chipped Beef

1 jar dried beef, sliced into thin ribbons

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons all-purpose flour

4 cups whole milk

Pepper to taste

Melt butter in a heavy pan over medium heat. Add flour to the pan and whisk for several minutes to remove the raw flour taste. Slowly pour in milk and whisk continuously until a thick sauce forms. Add pepper to taste and stir in the dried beef. Serve over generously buttered toast.

Note: Normally you would add salt to the bechamel sauce but the beef is already quite salty so you should omit any additional salt.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under beef

6 responses to “Creamed chipped beef on toast

  1. I grew up eating SOS, and I still like it, and even though my Dad ate it alot during WWII, he still liked it – so it must be pretty good.

  2. julie hendrix

    Catherine, you have apparently left your region because I had this growing up in NE Ohio. I laughed out loud at the reference to the beef in the little glass jars. FLASHBACK!!!! :o)

  3. Hello! I found your website while looking for pictures of chipped beef!! I was born and raised in NYC and I discovered chipped beef for the first time in my life a couple months ago when I went to visit Lancaster, PA. Dutch Country!

    And. I. LOVED. IT!

    Thanks for sharing your post! And now I know what S.O.S. is!!

    • Jess

      Problem is that I grew up with it in MD as one of my favorite dishes. And living now in NYC for 5 years I cannot find it ANYWHERE! Not even just the chipped beef so I can make it at home! Has anyone found it in nyc?

      • the south in my mouth

        Wow, not even a jar of Armor dried beef? And I thought New York was sophisticated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

