Korean-style pork

This is so fabulous. We’re having a snow day. Tennesseans, at least the ones in Middle Tennessee, don’t do snow well. Actually, come to think of it, we do snow very well. We stay inside. We eat a lot. Maybe have a few cocktails. That’s much better than mucking about outside, freezing and slipping all over the place. Much better.

So because we are “stuck” in our houses and cannot do anything remotely productive, we noodle around. This morning I have written my Christmas letter (I always do this after Christmas so I don’t get stressed about it), accompanied by a cup of coffee laced with Bushmill’s. I have taken several snow pictures from the comfort of my own home. I have checked out the traffic cameras from various Southern states that also got snow to see how pathetic the rest of my brethren are doing. I have not had the slightest notion to get out of my jammies yet.

I know. I know. When is she getting to the Korean-style pork, you are all wondering. One of my greatest achievements as a cook is figuring out what to do with the knobby end of a pork tenderloin.  You know that part. If you don’t cut it off before you cook the tenderloin, it’s the piece nobody wants. It’s just ugly. However, if you cut it off and freeze it, at some point you will accumulate enough knobby ends to make Korean-style pork.

What you want to do is let the pork thaw about halfway until you can thinly slice it. Then you marinate it in a yummy sauce and fry it at a high temperature with a little oil in the skillet. It’s super easy and super good served over rice with some roasted broccoli.  And the reason I decided to write about Korean-style pork on a snow day is that I happened to have everything on hand to make it.

You can, of course make this with regular pork tenderloin.

O.K., time for a Bloody Mary.

Korean-style pork

1/2 pound pork tenderloin scraps

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon Thai red curry paste

1 teaspoon dark sesame oil

1 large garlic clove, sliced

Cut tenderloin into thin sliced. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and add the pork. Marinate in the refrigerator for one hour. Heat a little oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Add the pork, with the garlic, and sauté until the pork is nicely browned.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under pork

Leave a Reply

