Collar that pie

Is there anything that doesn’t work better with silicone? How did our grandmothers ever turn out a cake without it? If you haven’t tried silicone bakeware yet, just spend about $10 on a muffin pan and go wild. You will make muffins for the next ten days straight because it’s so easy to pop them out of those rubber molds.

So Noah came home from college this weekend. This is my cue to start madly cooking as though the boy cannot obtain any sustenance at all on the University of Tennessee campus. If I do not send a cooler full of food back with him I am quite sure I have failed as a mother. Today, he went home with meatloaf and buttered egg noodles, sausages, pate, two sandwiches, and – ta da! – a cherry pie.

And this is where the silicone comes in. I have discovered the most useful baking tool since the bread pan was invented. It’s a silicone pie collar. If you’ve ever made a pie – or just baked a frozen one – you know that the outer part of the crust gets way too brown before the center of the crust is done. Previously, the only way to prevent this was to fashion odd pieces of tin foil to fit over the outer crust and, in the process, burn the bejebbers out of your hands trying to get them to stay on the pie plate.  I have scars. Trust me.

But today, I used my brand new silicone pie collar on that pie and it slipped on like a debutante slithering into a size 2 formal.

The pie was perfect when it left the house, headed back to Knoxville. As an aside, I must say that this “sending food back” with Noah is getting a little expensive. I believe I have done this four times now. Each time, there is a cooler and plastic containers involved. Have I seen any of them come back? Any of them? No, I have not. I picture his dorm room as a repository of Styrofoam coolers and Gladware, stacked to the ceiling. None of the Gladware washed, by the way. I may have to call the Health Department.

3 Comments

Filed under sweets

3 responses to “Collar that pie

  1. Lori

    “…it slipped on like a debutante slithering into a size 2 formal.”
    And this is why I am giddy to have found your writing again. I can so relate to sending provisions back to college to a child that has a full meal plan and spending money. It feeds something in us, to feed them. I don’t have any silicone bakeware. Yet. That pie sleeve is brilliant.

  2. Must find one of these silicone pie collars. I’m the official tin-foil pie collar maker in this house due to the fact Leon’s hands are too big to even attempt to make one whenever he’s making a pie. Thanks for the tip, we’ve gotta have one!

Leave a Reply

