Lobster rolls

Oh, yes. What else is there to say?

Back before I got married, I did a lot of traveling by myself. I liked it. And one of my favorite places to go was Maine. Fly into the Boston airport, rent a car, drive an hour north and start hitting the lobster shacks all the way up the coast. Whole lobsters were, of course, the first object of the exercise – my favorite shack was in Kittery on the water and the menu included just three things: steamed lobster, clams and corn on the cob. Period.

But after a few (dozen) whole lobsters, I would then migrate to the lobster roll, probably the most decadent yet simple sandwich ever invented. It is comprised entirely of large chunks of lobster dressed in mayonnaise, salt and pepper (some places add in diced celery but that’s just completely unnecessary) nestled in a special bun that is brushed with butter and grilled. The bun resembles a hot dog bun but with the sides cut off.

I have been thinking about lobster rolls quite a bit lately although I don’t know why (or, perhaps, the better question is why not?) and completely gave in to temptation when I saw whole cooked “chicken” lobsters (one pounders) in the seafood case at my beloved Publix the other day.

I will now briefly digress to tell you that, yes, it had occurred to me that I could just buy a couple of live lobsters at any time and cook them. But then I remembered a rather unfortunate occurrence during my last foray into live lobster cooking. It involved scratching, shall we say. From the inside of the pot.

So, this was a better alternative. You can make a lobster roll using only tail meat and it would be perfectly acceptable, but adding the claw meat really takes it over the top. I suppose you could also make it with crab meat for a slightly different take. But the bun is really the thing and I can’t find lobster roll buns down here, which is where I think of myself in relation to Maine.  So what I did was buy a loaf of soft French bread and slice the sides off before applying liberal amounts of butter and popping them into the skillet. It was not authentic. But it was serviceable.

So, there’s no recipe here. Just a procedure. Procure your lobster meat and boil it, if not cooked, just until the shell turns red. Chop it into large chunks, add the mayonnaise, salt and pepper. Refrigerate for an hour or so. Then grill your bun, apply the lobster and devour.

2 Comments

Filed under seafood

2 responses to “Lobster rolls

  1. Howard

    Being Boston, Born and Breed, I was raised on these (among other New England classic dishes) and dream about them very often, in fact last night.. There is a place inNew York that does them, but also ( in winter time) does a version with the lobsters being cooked in lots of butter ( rather than Mayo) , and then put in the bun and served hot!
    I being a classicalist (sic), I prefer the ‘cold’ to hot. Along with an Ice cold martini- it does not get any better than that!
    Thank you for bring this treat to home again.

Leave a Reply

