Chicken Divan Two

I do not like change. I say I do, but I don’t. When Noah left for college it took months to get over the fact that I didn’t have to – and, indeed, shouldn’t – make giant quantities of food.  There was no ravenous teenager at home, and none of his friends were around either. So I finally stopped and began cooking for two again.

But now he’s back.

Dammit boy came home for the summer and he’s as hungry as ever. The first few weeks I had a hard time adjusting. The meals I had intended to last as leftovers for days were gone in hours. He would invite his friends over and they would eat everything in the icebox. A pound of lunch meat? Merely an appetizer.”Oh, Mrs. Mayhew, you’re such a good cook!” they would exclaim. “Oh, shut up and go to Sonic.” I didn’t say that. I thought it. Seven Hail Mary’s for me.

So now I am getting back in the groove. But I am, once again, being defeated by a 19-year-old. Tonight, I made a new version of Chicken Divan. I made a lot of it. Dammit boy would be here as well as his friend, Elena. That would account for half the casserole dish. But, silly me. The boy needs a haircut. At the mall. Where there is freedom and a food court. Off they go. More Chicken Divan for me and Mark. Way more than we can eat in a week.

Ah, well. Best laid plans. Always foiled. I hate change.

Chicken Divan Two

2 chicken breasts

Salt and pepper

1 can cream of chicken soup

8 ounces sour cream

½ cup mayonnaise

½ cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Juice of 1 lemon

½ teaspoon curry powder

1 package frozen chopped broccoli, thawed

1 10-ounce package Trader Joe’s frozen brown rice

Panko bread crumbs

¼ stick butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Salt and pepper the chicken breasts and sauté them until done (or use leftover chicken). Chop and let cool.

Mix together the soup, sour cream, mayonnaise, cheese, lemon juice, and curry powder.

Add the chicken and broccoli to the soup mixture.

Put the rice in a casserole dish. Top with the chicken and broccoli mixture. Sprinkle Panko breadcrumbs over the top and drizzle with melted butter.

Bake for about 30 minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under casseroles, cheese, chicken

3 responses to “Chicken Divan Two

  1. Dee

    I have a 14 year old son and he is entering the “can’t get filled up” phase. Mother and I laughed at him tonight as he ate a big helping of tuna salad, and entire tomato, a LOT of cantaloupe, a big chocolate bar, and THEN said “I’m still hungry!” So I gave him about 2 cups of leftover rice and he ate it ALL. I hope this means he’s growing. Where he puts all that food in his little 5’4 114 lb. body I have no idea…

  2. This looks so good. Alas, we do NOT have Trader Joe’s as I thought. Boo!

  3. Pingback: Spicy Thai chicken | the south in my mouth

Leave a Reply

