Sausage and potato skillet supper

Necessity is the mother of invention, they say, and the necessity on Wednesday nights in the fall is to get supper out of the way early because it is Survivor night. Don’t judge me.

Survivor is a great example of situational ethics, of which I am not a big fan but which I do understand. To win, you have to lie. It’s the degree of the lie, when it’s told and to whom it’s told that is the key to winning $1 million. The biggest whopper anyone ever told on Survivor was the guy who said his grandmother had died to gain some sympathy from his fellow contestants. She had not.

I often wonder how I would do on Survivor, but I will never find out. I am not willing, first of all, to be shown on national television running around in my underwear, which contestants often do because it’s hot on all those islands they shoot the show on. At a certain age, men and women should not be shown in their underwear and, sadly, I have reached that age. I am also not willing to sleep, shoulder to shoulder, with strangers who smell. I require my own hotel room when I travel, which Survivor would not provide. I also require a mini-fridge for my wine, neither of which is allowed on the show. And you can’t smoke either.

But I do love watching it and so on Wednesday nights, supper must be finished and the dishes cleaned by 7 p.m. Mark would rather die than watch Survivor, but he does understand my addiction to it. And I reciprocate. I do not criticize him in the least for the 82 hours of television shows about war and the military he watches every week. I don’t even go into the den while he’s watching them.

By the way, this recipe calls for microwaving your potatoes before sauteing them. If you have not tried this, you must. Saves washing a pot. But be careful when you throw them into the skillet. If you have not drained them well, you will be very, very sorry.

Sausage and Potato Skillet Supper

2 links kielbasa or any other large sausage

2 cups chopped red potatoes

1 tablespoon bacon grease or vegetable oil

½ cup green peppers, sliced into thin strips

½ cup onion, sliced into thin strips

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon barbecue seasoning

Cut the sausage on the diagonal and brown in over medium heat in a large skillet. Remove and reserve.

Put the potatoes in a microwave-safe dish, cover with water and microwave on high for about five minutes, or until tender. Drain and reserve.

Heat the bacon grease in the skillet and add the peppers, onions and potatoes. Salt and pepper to taste. Add barbecue seasoning. Cook until potatoes are nicely browned. Add sausage.

 

1 Comment

Filed under casseroles, pork, veggies

One response to “Sausage and potato skillet supper

  1. Dee

    You inspired me to make a variation of this for dinner and it was really tasty. I used rice instead of potatoes but it was delicious. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

