Homemade corned beef hash

Corned beef hash is such a Northern thing. I don’t know why.

I realized this a few years ago at a church breakfast. We arrived and went down the food line and there was corned beef hash. I was instantly intrigued, but everyone around me was decidedly not. You could practically read their minds: “What is that strange pink substance? It looks like dog food.” Nobody ate the corned beef hash, which was a very unchristian thing to do.

Come to think of it now, you can hardly find a corned beef in the supermarket. It’s as though they stock them for the people who move here from Michigan or New York, who are made fun of when they pick one up. “Yankee, Yankee!!!” You can almost hear the taunts. So I hope I’m not chastised when I admit that I love corned beef and the resulting hash from the leftovers. Nothing is easier to cook.

For the corned beef, you just put it in a casserole dish, add a bottle of beer and enough water to come halfway up the meat and stick it in a 320 degree oven for a few hours until the corned beef is tender. I don’t add cabbage or potatoes to the casserole dish because they come out mushy. Oh, oh, another very non-Southern thing to say. We generally love our mushy vegetables. They’re going to drum me out of the corp.

So after you have your first round of corned beef, then you get to make the hash. The best part. If you want to gild the lily, add a poached egg on top. Dang it. Another Northern thing. They’re going to take away my license or my tub of lard. I think I’m going to have to eat this in the closet.

Corned Beef Hash

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 cups Yukon Gold potatoes, cut into small cubes

½ yellow onion, diced

Salt and pepper to taste

2 cups cooked corned beef, diced

1 tablespoon butter

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add to potatoes and sauté for about 10 minutes, flipping them as they turn brown. Add the onion, salt and pepper to taste, and continue sautéing until the potatoes and onions are both golden brown and potatoes are cooked through. Add the corned beef and blend thoroughly. Finish by stirring the butter into the mixture.

(Note: To just make this extremely Northern, we always have English muffins with our corned beef hash.)

4 Comments

Filed under beef, breakfast

4 responses to “Homemade corned beef hash

  1. elva thompson

    I’m very Southern but love corned beef. I cover mine with a bottle of wine, a handful of fresh garlic cloves,and about a cup of LaChoy soy sauce. Cover and simmer on low til tender. Cool in the juice, chill. Slice and serve on fresh onion rolls with good mustard. Leftovers would also make good hash. I’d serve it for supper or anytime.

  2. That sounds delicious. I’m going to try that!

  3. Donna Buswell

    Ask Buzz about “Red Flannel Hash”. His Mother made it all the time. You add cooked beets to the left overs and warm the mixture in a large skillet.
    Another Northern thing.

  4. julie

    Hilarious. I just read your post to my father at the morning table. He chuckled good. We grew up camping and having hash. Loved it. My mom made it sort of like a sheperd’s pie with mashed potatoes on top of the meat but I’m pretty sure she used the canned stuff. I still loved it. I think there might be a run on Corned Beef at Publix this week. Elva’s recipes also sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

