Dillard House Cabbage Casserole

Elva Thompson, one of my regular readers, commented on a link in my Country Sausage and Chow-Chow Flatbread to the Dillard House as a source for the chow-chow. And, Elva, you were right in noting that if you hadn’t had the Cabbage Casserole at this legendary North Georgia restaurant you were missing out on one of the world’s tastiest dishes (although I think their fried chicken beats everything else on the menu and that says a lot – I eat a platter of it every time I visit).

So, without further delay, here’s the recipe from the Dillard House Cookbook (which you can order by clicking here and you really should do so immediately):

Dillard House Cabbage Casserole

1 large head of cabbage

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 stick margarine

3 cups basic white sauce (below)

2 cups grated Cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cups buttered breadcrumbs

Shred cabbage. Cook 5 to 8 minutes in boiling water with 1 teaspoon salt. Don’t overcook; cabbage should remain crisp. Drain well. Layer cabbage in buttered two-quart casserole: cabbage, enough sauce to cover, second layer of cabbage, remaining sauce, then cheese. Top with buttered breadcrumbs. Bake in a preheated oven at 300 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Basic white sauce

1 cup margarine

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Salt and pepper

1 quart milk

Melt margarine in a sauce pot and add flour, salt and pepper to make a paste. Add milk and cook until thick, stirring constantly.

Yield: 8-10 servings

(Note: I would use butter rather than margarine, but it’s not my recipe so I’m butting out.)

2 Comments

Filed under cheese, Uncategorized, veggies

2 responses to “Dillard House Cabbage Casserole

  1. elva thompson

    Oh, my, just finished breakfast and now I’m hungry again. This cabbage, coupled with Lewis Grizzard’s cornbread and a green onion, is enough to make you push your granma in the creek and spank her for getting wet!

  2. Yay Elva! I am a direct descendant [her daughter]. We try to go to Dillard House about once a year, and we always carry back enough food for 1 or 2 more meals. I don’t care much for cabbage but I love this casserole. If I make it, though, I will use real butter, not margarine.

    I devised a cabbage recipe we love, that I call Eggroll Cabbage. You buy shredded cabbage in a bag, which is found near the bagged salads. Heat up some oil in a pan and toss in diced onions and cook them a bit, then add the cabbage, soy sauce, pepper, and garlic powder, and cook until crispy/tender.

Leave a Reply

