Eggs Benedict

Well, I am sorry to report to ya’ll tonight that Team 6 suffered a serious setback in the St. Paul’s Episcopal Church Breakfast Team championship. Kirby, Mark, Matthew and I were sitting pretty atop the leader board when I got a disturbing e-mail Friday. It announced that Team 1 would be making Eggs Benedict today. Eggs Benedict.

Team 1 captain Josh Sutherland had sent it on Friday just to ruin my whole weekend. I am quite sure he had lurked about, overhearing a conversation I had with Greer Carlisle, another team captain, about my desire to make Eggs Benedict for our final breakfast challenge. In fact, if you referred back to my post on this, you will see I ended it with my Eggs Benedict idea. So, I’m just a little suspicious about Josh. He’s very competitive. Unlike me.

So, of course, I rushed to church this morning hoping against hope that the Hollandaise Sauce had broken or that the eggs had fallen apart in their burbling little water bath. But unfortunately neither of those events befell my competitors. You will probably note that the photo to the right is a stock photo. I meant to take a picture of my plate, but I ate my Eggs Benedict before I could get the camera out. They were okay. Just okay.

…Alrighty, then. They were really delicious. So now I am between a rock and a hard place indeed.  I have been told by Mr. Gerald Hancock, himself a breakfast team captain who is out of the race due to the fact that he slept in on his appointed breakfast Sunday and the entire team failed to show up, that “a new threshold was reached today.” That obviously means that Team 1 has swept past us.

So I now have to devise an even greater menu for our final Sunday. I would discuss it here, but you never know who’s going to intrude on an obviously private discussion and breach security.

In the meantime, here’s my recipe for the really great Hollandaise Sauce I would have made for my Eggs Benedict. If you are fearful of raw egg yolks, just don’t make this. Too bad for you.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

3 egg yolks

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt

Dash hot sauce

1/2 cup hot melted butter

Put the yolks, lemon juice, salt and hot sauce in a blender. Cover the blender and blend at high speed for a few seconds. While the blender is still on, pour in the hot melted butter in a thin stream. You will see the sauce come together. It can sit at room temperature for a half hour. You can also refrigerate the leftovers and rewarm it in the top of a double boiler.

4 Comments

Filed under breakfast

4 responses to “Eggs Benedict

  1. Kim

    Wait!!! You go to a church where you challenge each other to cooking competitions? WHAT? How did I miss this commandment? “Thou shalt challenge your neighbor to cooking competitions.” It’s that missing commandment from the third part of the tablet. I think it got dropped or something.

    My point is…I need to be finding me some religion!!

  2. It’s not fair. It’s 3am on a friday morning here in GA and I have a craving for egg’s benedict, but I can’t even boil water. 😦 I really picked the wrong profession.

    What’s worse, is having the ability to hop on my computer and read about it, making me want it more. I’m coming over for dinner ,’:o)

  3. I have always wanted to find an easy way to make hollandaise sauce for the sheer purpose of being able to make eggs benedict! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

    • the south in my mouth

      This is totally foolproof and you can refrigerate the leftovers. Just barely reheat them in the microwave (like 10 seconds or so) and the sauce won’t break. I have been known to be a very bad girl and eat it with a spoon!

Leave a comment