Smothered pork chops

If it wasn’t for Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup, we might starve to death. And I don’t think this is a Southern thing, although we can slap wear out a can of cream of mushroom soup for almost any occasion. Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup is a universal addiction. And it has to be Campbell’s. Spare no expense.

I am not sure I know anyone who eats Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup as just plain soup. I’ve never seen it in a bowl. It is actually a sauce. Somehow heat and the addition of other ingredients transforms the soup into a silky, rich sauce.

And the perfect example is smothered pork chops. This is a busy-night, go-to meal. It takes an hour to cook, but just 10 minutes to assemble.

Smothered Pork Chops

4 bone-in pork chops

16 ounces sliced mushrooms

2 cans cream of mushroom soup

2 tablespoons minced dried onion

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a skillet. Salt and pepper the chops and brown them on both sides.

Lay the mushrooms in the bottom of a 9-by-13 baking dish. Put the pork chops on top.

Mix together the mushroom soup, dried onion and Worcestershire sauce. Spread over the pork chops.

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour or until the chops are tender.

6 Comments

Filed under casseroles, pork, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Smothered pork chops

  1. Leslie Fraser

    True heaven in a can of cream of mushroom soup!! I am cooking this tonight, and cannot wait for the silky sauce it makes. Life is incomplete without cream of mushroom soup!

    • elva thompson

      LOL LOL When I first married, my new husband said he didn’t eat mushrooms [1957 ] so I strained them out and ate them myself. Cream of Chicken runs a close second. Both soups benefit from a healthy shot of sherry,I think. Happy Valentine !

  2. Lori

    Delicious and reminiscent of the pork chops at the Alpha Chi house in Gainesville FL, back in the day.
    Question: Raw mushrooms or canned?

    • the south in my mouth

      Raw. They cook down and the juice they release mixes with the mushroom soup. I ate it with a spoon out of the dish!

  3. How fortuitious! Just trolling for pork chop recipes for us and B’s parents tonight:)

  4. Marida Stearns

    I served this last night to my family and got rave reviews.
    Thanks for sharing. Yummy!
    Marida

Leave a comment